Cancer Resource Center

ACS Cancer Resource Center:

The Cancer Resource Center at Provision Radiation Therapy is a place where patients and families can gather and research information related to their cancer diagnosis. Through a variety of resources such as books, pamphlets, videos, Web sites, and computer programs.

For many patients, one of the most difficult aspects of dealing with cancer is feeling a loss of control. Provision Radiation Therapy is committed to helping patients and their families regain a sense of control by learning more about their condition.

In partnership with the American Cancer Society, we have created an all-inclusive resource center–seamlessly blending health information and social services.

The Cancer Resource Center’s primary goal is to deliver professional, compassionate assistance to cancer patients, their families, and their caregivers from the moment of diagnosis forward–filling the gaps that may occur before and after the patient’s hospital stay. We also welcome all members of the community who are interested in cancer detection, treatment, and prevention.

Caring Resource Team:

Our friendly staff includes a specially trained social worker and an administrator who will provide individualized support based on your needs. Cancer Resource Center personnel can help patients and families:

  • Access comprehensive cancer information–including facts about specific types of cancer, treatment options, pain management, nutrition, and other aspects of cancer care
  • Obtain information about leading cancer research trials and learn how to apply
  • Receive one-on-one counseling
  • Obtain transportation, lodging, and financial support
  • Find community resources such as wig banks, advocacy and support services, and community organizations
  • Access support groups for both patients and family members

How Our Center Can Help:

Some of the resources available at our center include:

  • A computer to access online information
  • A closed conference area where patients and families can consult in private with our social worker
  • An extensive library of books, videos, and DVDs
  • A wide variety of magazines, newsletters, and booklets
  • Direct access to the American Cancer Society as well as the National Cancer Institute’s Information Service
  • Information on where to buy wigs and turbans
  • A calendar of events for cancer patients

Other Resources:

General/National

– American Cancer Society – (800) ACS-2345 – cancer.org
– American Society of Clinical Oncology – oncology.com
– American Society of Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology – (800) 962-7876 – rtanswers.org
– Association of Community Cancer Centers – (301) 984-9496 – accc-cancer.org
– Cancer Care, Inc. – (800) 813-HOPE – cancercare.org
– Cancer Consultants – cancerconsultants.com
– Cancer Guide – (800) 813-HOPE – cancerguide.org
– Cancer Hope Network – (877) HOPE-NET – cancerhopenetwork.org
– Cancer News – cancernews.com
– Chemotherapy Foundation – (212) 213-9292 – chemotherapyfoundation.org
– Dr. Mandell Psychiatry, Cancer Consultation – (888) PSYCHRX – drlmandellpsychiatry.com
– Fertile Hope – (888) 994-HOPE – fertilehope.org
– Guilda’s Club Worldwide – (888) 444-4441 – gildasclub.org
– I’m Too Young for This – (877) 735-4673 – www.imtooyoungforthis.org
– International Cancer Alliance for Research and Education – (561) 776-6666 – icare.org
– Lance Armstrong Foundation – (877) WEAR-YELLOW – livestrong.org
– National Cancer Institute – (800) 4-CANCER – cancer.gov
– National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship – (877) 622-7937 – canceradvocacy.org
– National Comprehensive Cancer Network – (888) 909-6226 – nccn.com
– National Family Caregivers Association nfcacares.org
– National Lymphedema Network – (800) 541-3529 – lymphnet.org
– National Patient Advocate Foundation – (800) 532-5274 – patientadvocate.org
– Oncology Nursing Society – (866) 257-4667 – ons.org
– People Living with Cancer – (703) 519-2927 or (888) 651-3038 – cancer.net
– Pregnant with Cancer Network – (800) 743-4471 pregnantwithcancer.org
– RadiologyInfo – (800) 381-6660 – radiologyinfo.org
– Ronald McDonald House – (630) 623-7048
– The Wellness Community – thewellnesscommunity.org
– Vital Options International TeleSupport Cancer Network – (800) 477-7666 – vitaloptions.org

Financial Support

– Angel Flight America – (800) 446-1231 – angelflightamerica.org
– Corporate Angel Network – (866) 328-1313 – corpangelnetwork.org
– Medicare – medicare.gov
– National Patient Advocate Foundation – (800) 532-5274 – patientadvocate.org
– National Patient Travel Center – (800) 296-1217 – patienttravel.org
– Needy Meds – needymeds.com
– Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America – (800) 762-4636 – phrma.org

Research/Clinical Trials

– American Institute for Cancer Research – (800) 843-8114 – aicr.org
– Cancer Research Foundation of America – (800) 227-2732 – preventcancer.org

Cancer Groups by Category:

Brain

– American Brain Tumor Association – (800) 886-2282 – abta.org
– Brain Tumor Society – (800) 770-8287 – tbts.org
– Children’s Brain Tumor Foundation – (866) 228-4673 – cbtf.org
– Musella Foundation For Brain Tumor Research & Information, Inc. – (888) 295-4740 – virtualtrials.com
– National Brain Tumor Society – (800) 934-CURE braintumor.org
– Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation – (800) 253-TBTS – pbtfus.org

Bone

– Blood and Marrow Transplantation Information Network – (888) 597-7674 – bmtinfonet.org
– National Bone Marrow Transplant Link – (800) LINK-BMT – nbmtlink.org
– National Marrow Donor Program – (800) MARROW-2 marrow.org

Breast Cancer

– BreastCancer.org – breastcancer.org
– Breast Cancer Network of Strength – (800) 221-2141 – networkofstrength.org
– Casting for Recovery – (802) 362-9181 – castingforrecovery.com
– Imaginis: The Breast Cancer Resource – (864) 990-3733 – imaginis.org
– Expedition Inspiration – (208) 726-6456 – expeditioninspiration.org
– FORCE – (954) 255-8732 – facingourrisk.org
– Inflammatory Breast Cancer Support – ibcsupport
– Inflammatory Breast Cancer Research Foundation – (877) 786-7422 – ibcresearch.org”
– Living Beyond Breast Cancer – (888) 753-5222 – lbbc.org
– National Alliance of Breast Cancer Organizations – (888) 80-NABCO – nabco.org
– National Breast Cancer Coalition – (800) 622-2838 – stopbreastcancer.org
– Share – (866) 891-2392 – sharecancersupport.org
– Sister Study – (877) 4-SISTER – sisterstudy.org
– Sisters Network – (866) 781-1808 – sistersnetworkinc.org
– Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation – (800) 462-9273 komen.org

Childhood Cancer

– Candlelighters Childhood Cancer Foundation – (800) 366-CCCF – candlelighters.org
– Children’s Brain Tumor Foundation – (866) 228-4673 – cbtf.org
– CureSearch National Childhood Cancer Foundation – (800) 458-6223 – curesearch.org
– Kids Cancer Network – kidscancernetwork.org
– Kids Konnected – (800) 899-2866 – kidsconnected.org
– National Respite Locator Service – (919) 490-5577 – respitelocator.org
– Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation – (800) 253-6530 – pbtfus.org
– SuperSibs! – (866) 444-SIBS – supersibs.org
– Ulman Cancer Fund for Young Adults – (410) 964-0202 – ulmanfund.org

Colon Cancer

– Colorectal Cancer Coalition (C3) – (202) 244-2906 – fightcolorectalcancer.org
– Colon Cancer Alliance – (877) 422-2030 – ccalliance.org
– Colorectal Cancer Network – (800) 227-2732 – colorectalcancer.org

Esophageal Cancer

– Esophageal Cancer Cafe – eccafe.org
– Esophageal Cancer Awareness Association – (866) 370-ECAA – ecaware.org

Gynecologic Cancers

– Alliance for Cervical Cancer Prevention (ACCP) – (212) 561-8000 www.alliance-cxca.org
– CONVERSATIONS: The International Ovarian Cancer Connection – (806) 355-2565 – www.ovarian-news.org
– FORCE – (954) 255-8732 – facingourrisk.org
– Gynecologic Cancer Foundation – (800) 444-4441 – wcn.org/gcf
– National Cervical Cancer Coalition – (800) 685-5531 – nccc-online.org
– National Ovarian Cancer Coalition – (888) OVARIAN – ovarian.org
– Ovarian Cancer National Alliance – (202) 331-1332 – ovariancancer.org
– Ovarian Cancer Research Fund (OCRF) – (800) 873-9569 – ocrf.org

Head & Neck Cancer

– Support for People with Oral and Head and Neck Cancer Inc. – (800) 377-0928 – spohnc.org
– Oral Cancer Foundation – (949) 646-8000 – oralcancerfoundation.org

Kidney Cancer

– Kidney Cancer Association – (800) 850-9132 – curekidneycancer.org

Laryngeal Cancer

– International Association of Laryngectomees – (209) 472-0516

Leukemia and Lymphoma

– Leukemia & Lymphoma Society – (800) 995-4LSA – leukemia-lymphoma.org
– Lymphomation.org – lymphomation.org
– Lymphoma Information Network – lymphomainfo.net
– Lymphoma Research Foundation – (847) 424-0600 – lymphoma.org

Lung Cancer

– Alliance for Lung Cancer Advocacy, Support and Education – (800) 298-2436 – alcase.org
– American Lung Association – (800) LUNG-USA – lungusa.org

Lymphedema

– Leukemia and Lymphoma Society – (800) 955-4572 – lls.org
– Lymphedema Research Foundation – (800) 500-9976 – lymphaticresearch.org
– National Lymphedema Network – (800) 541-3259 – lymphnet.org

Multiple Myeloma

– International Myeloma Foundation (IMF) – (800) 452-2873 – myeloma.org
– Institute for Myeloma and Bone Cancer Research (IMBCR) – (310) 623-1210 – imbcr.org
– Multiple Myeloma Research Foundation (MMRF) – (203) 972-1250 – multiplemyeloma.com

Pancreatic Cancer

– Lustgarten Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research – (866) 789-1000 – lustgarten.org
– Pancreatica – lustgarten.org
– Pancreatic Cancer Action Network – (877) 272-6226 – pancan.org

Prostate Cancer

– Alliance for Prostate Cancer Prevention – (888) 502-7227 – apcap.org
– American Foundation for Urologic Disease (AFUD) – (800) 242-2383 – auafoundation.org/auafhome.asp
– Center for Prostate Disease Research – cpdr.org
– Malecare – (212) 844-8369 – malecare.org
– National Prostate Cancer Coalition – (888) 245-9455 – pcacoalition.org
– Patients Advocates for Advanced Cancer Treatments (PAACT) – (616) 453-1477 – paactusa.org
– Prostate Cancer Foundation – (800) 757-CURE – prostatecancerfoundation.org
– Prostate Cancer Research Institute – (310) 743-2110 – pcri.org
– Us TOO! International Prostate Cancer Education and Support – (800) 80-USTOO – ustoo.com

Sarcoma

– The Sarcoma Alliance – (415) 381-7236 – sarcomaalliance.org

Skin Cancer

– American Academy of Dermatology – sarcomaalliance.org
– Melanoma.com – melanoma.com
– Melanoma Research Foundation – (800)673-1290 – melanoma.org
– The Skin Cancer Foundation – (800) SKIN-490 – skincancer.org

Testicular Cancer

– Testicular Cancer Resource Center – acor.org/TCRC

Thyroid Cancer

– ThyCA: Thyroid Cancer Survivors’ Association – (877) 588-7904 – thyca.org

1415 Old Weisgarber Rd., Suite 250
Knoxville, TN 37909

Phone: 865.437.5252
Fax: 865.437.5250
Send us an Email